Chile Regions Map

You can easily create a Chile Regions map using Mapline. In Chile, a region is the 1st level administrative unit. The regional structure in Chile started in the 1970s. Initially, there were 12 regions. In 1976, the Metropolitan Region of Santiago was added. 2 more regions were added in 2007, completing the 15 regions of the country. Each region is led by a President appointed intendant and his regional board.

The names of the regions always starts with roman numerals followed by a name. When the regional structure first started, roman numerals were assigned in ascending order with the northernmost region designated as I and the southernmost region as XII.

Regions are divided into provinces, the  2nd level administrative division, which in turn are sub-divided into communes, the 3rd level administrative division.

Chile Regions Map

Steps to Create a Chile Regions Map

  1. Create a Mapline account and login
  2. Click “New Map” to create a new map.
  3. Give your map a name and click “Create Map.”
  4. Click the orange “Add Data Layers” button from the left sidebar.
  5. Select the “Add Territories” option.
  6. Select “Chile Regions” as the territory type.
  7. Give this territory overlay a Name and select the coloring option.
  8. Click “Continue.”

That’s how easy it is to create a Chile Regions map! Once you have your map, you can create a map of Excel spreadsheet locations to overlay on top. Mapline also makes it simple to see summary information about the locations inside each region just by clicking on them! Sign up now to create a Chile Regions map.