Differences Between Account User Types

Manage permissions to give users exactly what they need.

In Mapline, you can have different user types on your account. Why would this be needed? Sometimes you may want to have several users on one account. However, you may not want every member of the team to have the same access to everything. Some you may want to only see their maps, or others you only want to see billing information. Thus arises the need for different user types! When you add a user to your account, all you need to do is specify which user types you would like them to be.
User
People that are assigned the type of “User” will be able to login to Mapline and create their own maps and datasets. They can also share those maps and datasets with anyone, both on the account or outside it. They can also have maps shared with them. If the map creator is on the same account, then the user can be given edit privileges. A user will only see the maps and data sets that they have created or that are shared with him or her.
Administrator
People that are assigned the type of “Administrator” have all the capabilities of a normal user in addition to the ability to add or remove users. An admin also can change user roles if needed. Similar to a user, an admin will only see the maps and data sets they have created or that are shared with him or her.
Billing Admin
People that are assinged the type of “Billing Admin” have very limited access to the account. They can log in to Mapline, and access payment information and invoices. However, they cannot create maps or datasets.

1. To change user types, access the account user menu
To add users, remove users, or change a users type, open your account menu by clicking on your name in the top right and select “account users”.
2. Select “Add User”
The add user icon looks like a small silhouette. Clicking it will promt you to enter the email and user type of the new user. You can see at the top of the account users page the total number of licenses you have available.
Add users
3. To edit a user, select the pencil icon below the listing
Here you can update a users name, email, or role. Select the red “X” icon to remove a user from the account. Any visualizations or datasets created by that user will be reassigned to the account owner.
Add account users